Skip to content

Place, politics, persistence

Image

CIA took me to Berlin for my 30th birthday. I haven’t written about it, or shared the best pictures because more than a year later I am still processing the visit. Berlin is one of the most marvellous cities I have been to, and if I have the chance to live there, believe me I will grab at it with two hands. This is not the best picture – but seeing it again just now made me realise how long the conflict had festered there.

The politics of change, of confrontation, of conflict felt (and feel) different everywhere. Berlin, for so many reasons so many other people have already discussed, represents the awkwardness of dealing with these problems in a way few other places in Europe do.

I hope that Libya finds a way forward, as Berliners have.

– PJD

Photo above taken by PJD of the remnants of the Berlin Wall 14/03/11

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. Berlin is a dichotomous place, from what I’ve read and heard. Maybe it’s impossible to have a Europe that did not have one place like Berlin. Maybe we need Berlin to give us an idea, or a reference for the future. “If not you, who?”

    May 1, 2012
    • I like the sense you offer of the present-day Berlin offering a reference for other places in the future. Certainly, places like Berlin are necessary – I suppose we can wish that in the future fewer such places are needed.

      This might sound glib – but I suppose a dichotomous Berlin could partially be thought of as a direct result of a bifurcated city.

      May 3, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. A little (more) Berlinisch Graffiti | foldedcranes

Leave a Reply

