Skip to content

Font series: I

For my birthday this year I was given a book Just my Type. It was probably because I take photos like this one.

I really like looking at the signs in cities, in the lettering used on public buildings, on monuments, on statues, public transport systems. I also really like to take pictures of them. This particular one is from the base of a statue in the grounds of the Strahov Monastery. I have no idea what the words around it said, and no particular interest in ever finding out. But I think they made great pictures. Prague, by the way, is a great city to visit. Even if you are afraid of eastern and/or central Europe.

(By the way, I am not sure if this counts as a typeface, or if it’s really more of a logo…)

PJD

Photo by PJD at Strahov Monastery; it was Easter, 2011. Which is to say, it was a warmer day than we had all summer…

7 Comments Post a comment
  1. This should be a fun/nerdy series of posts. Are those apostrophes or inverted commas? I trust that there will be a Sagrada Família post in this series…

    May 15, 2012
  2. Martin Dolan #

    Definitely accents. A little ‘v’ above the preceding letter. Czech it out. Not sure why there’s one over the ‘e’, though.

    May 18, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Font Series V: Typography by Travis | foldedcranes
  2. Font Series V: Typography by Travis | foldedcranes

Leave a Reply

