Skip to content

Anticipating Moonrise Kingdom

I’ve been looking forward to the new film Moonrise Kingdom (directed by Wes Anderson) for a long time now, ever since my brother told me about it and I first watched the trailer. If you haven’t seen the trailer yet, and like me, have a penchant for  comedy in the vein of weird-and-wacky plus off-the-wall plus a large dose of irony (a-la Submarine or The Science of Sleep), you really should check it out here.

The film doesn’t open here in the Netherlands for a couple of weeks yet, but it premiered yesterday as the opener at the annual Cannes Film Festival. It’s already being panned in places, despite the heavy-hitting cast (I guess I am wondering how Tilda Swinton, Bruce Willis, Bill Murray, Edward Norton, Frances McDormand and Owen Wilson will gel together!) From what I can tell, I think I am going to love it, or in the very least be amused for a couple of hours by it, but there’s always the chance that all the hilarity has already been jammed into the two minutes worth of trailer. I’ll let you know what I think when I do see it, and in the meantime I’m continuing to chuckle over the character posters below (you can see all seven of the interactive posters here, if you are also so inclined). So, are you hanging out for Moonrise Kingdom like I am?

CIA

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. Matt #

    Definitely looking forward to this, although scared that this may be closer to Life Aquatic than Tenenbaums (as discussed in East Village.) Love the blog.

    May 18, 2012
    • Glad you are enjoying the blog – and this reminds me that neither CIA nor I have watched either Tenembaums or Life Aquatic. Something to line up one evening, I guess! Otherwise, what would out point of comparison be!?

      By the way, I am totally jealous of the time spent in the East Village…

      May 21, 2012
    • Hi Matt,

      Did you watch Moonrise Kingdom yet? We haven’t managed to, but hopefully will when we get back from Paris!

      June 8, 2012

Leave a Reply

