Skip to content

Pizza to go for… Lady and Sir

Recently a friend mentioned that one of their favourite things about ordering pizza at their local pizza joint was ordering under a false name, something really exotic or crazy, and waiting for it to be called out when their order was up, and having a chuckle to themselves. I like the idea of this, but I like what happened to us tonight even more.

Tonight, after one of those days at work that just feels like it will never end, we decided it was going to be pizza from the place around the corner for us. They have an electronic order board that counts down the minutes until your order is ready (I know, pretty high tech). You can imagine our surprise when our order popped up on the board as “Lady and Sir”. Of course it made me giggle and then I couldn’t believe it when the boy behind the counter called out, in a very embarrassed and furtive kind of way, “Order for…. Lady and Sir?”, as he looked questioningly at us. My giggling fit continued, PJD looked at me (and the pizza boy) like we were crazy, and I came home and took this photo below – proof that our new pizza nobility status continues, well, until we polish off the pizza anyway (isn’t cold pizza for breakfast the best?!)!

It’s nice to end the day laughing; sometimes it really is the little moments of levity that count.

– CIA

8 Comments Post a comment
  1. nienke #

    Thats hilarious!
    Just saw some of the floating pictures! Super awesome!
    Xx

    June 2, 2012
    • Hi Nienke!

      I know, it was absolutely hilarious, we have the best time at that pizza place, always so entertaining with many things lost in translation! They always manage to get our order right though 🙂

      Glad you are enjoying the floating pictures, and foldedcranes.com too! Thanks for reading 🙂

      June 8, 2012
  2. I could eat pizza morning, noon, and night, but I’m pretty sure my doctor would be upset with me.

    June 2, 2012
    • Great, so it’s not just us that feel that way about pizza then! I have to say, not everyone agrees, I got a few strange sideways looks as I munched on some leftovers at work the other morning!

      June 2, 2012
      • In my household there is no such thing as leftover pizza! lol

        June 2, 2012
      • Russel, rest assured, there’s often no leftovers in our house either! Hope you are enjoying camping at our blog, and that you will return. Cheers.

        June 5, 2012
  3. P F #

    Seeing the photo of your receipt and noting what else you had with your pizza, I was transported back to a few months spent living in a small village in Sweden. Everywhere in Sweden “pizza salad”, similar to what Americans call cole slaw comes with the pizza.

    June 5, 2012
    • Pizza salad sure sounds interesting! I also had interesting pizza experiences when I lived in Scandanavia, in Copenhagen, where pizza would often come topped with salad leaves, or rolled up turkish style. I found it strange at first but soon got used to it, and now I miss it! Thanks for sharing your pizza experience 😉

      June 5, 2012

Leave a Reply

