Skip to content

Font Series: III (Museum für Gestaltung)

If pictures are worth 1000 words, is a picture of a word (and a typeface at that) worth any more? This is of course the king of sans serif typefaces. Some people debate the superiority of Gill Sans, maybe Futura. Arial and Calibri have huge Microsoft-assisted prominance. But let’s all admit that Helvetica is amazing. And, more still, that Helvetica in a design museum in Zürich is better still, no?

Here, you can find forty (check it!), FORTY logos with Helvetica. And they are just the good ones. And, the typeface even has a movie.

PJD

Photo by CIA, Museum for Design, Zürich. The glass and low light presented some technical glitches, but we got there in the end.

8 Comments Post a comment
  1. Michael #

    Ariel has done so well because it’s lettering takes up the exact same widths as Helvetica, making it easy to replace one with the other. Not only that, but aside from a few tiny quirks here and there they’re almost impossible to tell apart. See if you can work out which is which: http://www.ironicsans.com/helvarialquiz/ For the record: I can’t at all. 10/20 at best.

    The documentary about Helvetica is surprisingly interesting, at least from a design point of view. It explains every ad you’ve ever seen in magazines from the 70’s/80’s.

    June 10, 2012
    • I got19/20 – but I have recently read a book about typefaces. So I may have an unfair advantage. Or, I am a huge nerd, who has looked way too closely at these things (the biggest tell is the chip away the “t” has in Arial, which Helvetica lacks…

      I got “Mattel” wrong, which seems weird, because we all had toys once, right?!

      June 14, 2012
  2. I discovered when I did my poetry course last year at Uni that anything in Comic Sans usually goes straight in the bin unread when submitted to editors (how rude, but gives me another excuse as to why I’ve been rejected so much!) so I’ve had to smarten/serious my act up and go back to boring old Times Roman….sigh….might check out Helvetica for other projects though, looks like a font that should also be taken seriously!

    June 10, 2012
    • If you want a serious seriffed font that is not TNR, then try Garamond (which has 18th century pedigree!) or Palatino Linotype. Sylfaen or Georgia are also classy, though both are designed as screen fonts (as such, not so good for submitting poetry).

      Helvetica is Swiss, and as such must be taken neutrally, not seriously… (hah!)

      June 14, 2012
      • It would make a pretty cool object to have around the house though – might inspire me to right a little bit more seriously!! hey, have you posted any folding crane instructions yet??!! I’d love to make some for my Grandson’s nursery 🙂

        June 14, 2012
      • It would make a pretty cool object to have around the house though – might inspire me to right a little bit more seriously!! hey, have you posted any folding crane instructions yet??!! I’d love to make some for my Grandson’s nursery 🙂

        June 14, 2012
  3. As I get older, I become more appreciative of crisp, clean type…sooo much easier to read!

    June 10, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Font Series V: Typography by Travis | foldedcranes

Leave a Reply

