Skip to content

Éclair-ing in Paris, a.k.a. J’aime l’éclairs!

I am going to be completely honest and tell you that one of the things I was anticipating the most about our short trip to Paris (with much excitement) was the chance to indulge my sweet tooth with some of those delicious and beautiful french pastry delights. So, you can imagine my excitement when my eyes alighted upon these:

Have you ever seen such decadent, delicious looking éclairs?  As soon as we saw them, we knew it was éclair-o’clock, without a doubt. I fleetingly toyed with the idea of sampling one of the pistache variety (that green topping was outrageous and looked like fun!), and PJD boldly declared it would be the café flavoured éclair for him. But when it came time to order, the truth was that neither of us could go past good ol’ tried and true chocolat.

By the way. Before you ask. The answer is yes. I am happy to report that these beauties did taste as delicious as they look. Absolutely. And I have sampled a few in the past… I have very fond memories of baking batches of chocolate éclairs with my Gran when I was younger, albeit of much smaller sizes than these Parisian ones!

An éclair is only as good as the sum of its three parts: light, slightly crisp on the outside, soft on the inside choux pastry; rich, creamy filling (in this case, chocolate crème patissière); and silky smooth sweet ganache or icing. Everything was right about these éclairs, and whilst I would like to say that we regretted getting one each, given their size, I don’t think either of us did. I’m sure no self-respecting French woman would indulge in such a way (it’s all about portion control, or something like that, right?!), but combined with the rich, creamy French-style chocolat chaud, I admit my Parisian pastry dreams were fulfilled. It will certainly be a while until I have the chance to sample such pastry deliciousness again, but maybe I will be brave and try Raymond Blanc’s recipe for éclairs (which he says are simple…) sometime. If I am feeling really brave, maybe I will document that experiment here on foldedcranes. 

Oh and one other thing certainly added to the experience: with its blue, orange and gold decor details, I think this may have been one of the coolest cafes I have ever been to.

CIA

Photos by CIA, Musee d’Orsay Fifth Floor Cafe, Paris, June 2012.

18 Comments Post a comment
  1. One eclair a piece sounds like portion control to me!

    June 19, 2012
  2. I’m with Margarita – I’d have tried them all!

    June 19, 2012
  3. I’m salivating!

    June 19, 2012
    • Haha! Glad you enjoyed this post!

      Enjoying your blog – history and food, great combo! Thanks for the comment.

      June 19, 2012
      • Cheers!

        I look forward to exploring your blog some more tomorrow. And by that I of course mean that I’ll be working hard at my job and not slacking off at all.

        June 19, 2012
      • Of course, totally. So how did your day of hard work and no slacking go?

        June 22, 2012
  4. As a French woman I can say that I would totally eat the whole thing without sharing 🙂 I love éclairs ! But I have to say this éclair was really huge !

    June 19, 2012
    • Haha! Hello, that is so cool to know that you would eat it all, and without sharing. Tres bien!! 😉 I agree: this was a particularly huge eclair, not like the dainty, smaller ones at the pastry shops!

      Being French, can you reccomend some of your favourite other French pastry types? I always get so overwhelmed when confronted by such a vast array of delectable items, it’d be awesome to have some tips!

      June 19, 2012
      • One of my favorite pastries is called “paris-brest”, don’t ask me why it’s called like that, but it’s delicious 🙂

        June 19, 2012
      • Fantastic, paris-brest look amazing, I will be sure to track them down next time in France!

        By the way, like that you are in America blogging in French. Whilst it means I can’t read your blog, it’s really cool that you are doing that! 🙂

        June 20, 2012
  5. “…I think this may have been one of the coolest cafes I have ever been to.”… Don’t expect Wellington Tourism to retweet this post! Does look like a super neat cafe though. “Neat” may be the wrong word; that room divider/sculpture reminds me of Mr. Messy of Mr. Men fame.

    The green éclair looks entirely out of place… i.e. probably the one I would have chosen :p

    June 20, 2012
    • Hey man, just scoping out some of the other cool cafes in the world while I’m out here, don’t worry though, Welli cafes of the likes of Maranui, SMK, Joe’s Garage, Midnight, Floriditas will ALWAYS have my heart, and nothing can come close 🙂

      Indeed, the wall was rather Mr. Messy-esque! And yes – you completely WOULD have chosen the green eclair!

      June 20, 2012
  6. Wow! That is a huge eclair, compared to what I’ve seen here in Australia and home in NZ, which are pitiful by the way. Spotted your comment on A Cup of Jo and this is my first visit. Enjoying what I’ve read so far, look forward to seeing the rest 🙂

    June 20, 2012
    • Hi Luna!

      Yes, so huge, these eclairs, they were quite crazy, don’t think they are the norm in France at all, we just got lucky at this cafe 😉

      Cool that you saw my comment and came on over to foldedcranes.com! We are really glad that you did, thanks! And, you are a Kiwi too?! Awesome! What are you up to in Aus/how long have you been there? Looking forward to checking out more of your blog too – cheers!

      June 20, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Éclair-ing at home | foldedcranes
  2. A long-awaited culinary encounter | foldedcranes

Leave a Reply

