Skip to content

A little Belgian graffiti

This has become something of a localised meme now, but here is some flashy graffiti we caught in Bruges (for two weeks, in Bruges?). Occasionally Travelled accompanied us on this trip, and can be seen below. By below, I mean in the featured image, on the right. Anyway, we all enjoyed travelling to Bruges, though the trains were not entirely cooperative. Bruges (or Brugge) is the only place in Belgium tourists go to, we’ve been told, unless they get tricked into going to Brussels too. I don’t really know if this is true or not. Someone else said that it’s the “Venice of the North”, but I am not sure whoever said that had been to Venice, or perhaps, if they had, they clearly hadn’t been to Bruges. That being said, some of the street art was pretty good:

Now, I should level with all of you. CIA, myself and Occasionally Travelled all wanted to go to Bruges for one reason, and one reason only. Alcoves:

This film is hilarious, and everyone should watch it. I forgive you in advance if you find yourself not liking it.

That being said, here’s a little more graffiti:

And one more, just for completeness’ sake:

So, Belgium: more than chocolate, beer and waffles…just*.

PJD

Photos by PJD and CIA, Bruges, Belgium, January 2011.

* Actually, as recognised on previous posts about Brussels, we actually really like Belgium. It’s just I also really like irony and sarcasm. I forgive you in advance if you’re offended.

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. you forgot about the moules et frites!

    June 24, 2012
  2. I’ve never felt so white… I like this “little” graffiti series you’re doing. I’d forgotten about the Burges graffiti, but it really is great.

    Why did we not go to Koningin Astridpark!?!?!? It is mere minutes away from the Belfort. Minutes!!! Alcoves!!!

    Oh, naturally I’m going to take your demands for me to resume blogging as “irony and sarcasm” 😉 Then again, I too like irony and sarcasm…

    June 26, 2012

Leave a Reply

