Skip to content

Éclair-ing at home

Well, true to my word, after earlier writing of our enjoyment of what some have pointed out to be the biggest chocolate éclairs ever on our recent trip to Paris,  I decided to try my hand at making some éclairs of my own at home. I thought you might enjoy to see the results…

As you can see, I took a slightly different approach, with the éclairs that I made being of the mini variety. I found making the choux pastry to be an interesting experience; I was absolutely convinced that the eggs would not mix back into the water, butter and flour mixture, but to my surprise as I kept beating the mixture, all of a sudden it came together. Whew!

I was fairly happy with the result; although they were nowhere near perfect, my éclairs were light and rich, with the chocolate ganache topping being the star of the show. Ideally I think they could have done with a little longer in the oven, to get a golden glow on them. And I am still not quite sure about the level of crispness (or not) that the pastry should have upon completion of the cooking stage.

I’d like to experiment further with some alternative recipes (I used a very basic one; next time around I might step up to Raymond Blanc’s recipe) to reach éclair-perfection (and before I do so will definitely invest in a piping bag; this time around I had to improvise!), but as a first go making these on my own, this batch went down a treat.

CIA

Photos by CIA. Éclair eating and enjoying undertaken by both CIA and PJD.

12 Comments Post a comment
  1. They look incredible!

    June 28, 2012
    • Thanks! Have you made them before?!

      June 28, 2012
      • Alas, no! I’ve always been too scared of stuffing them up!

        June 28, 2012
      • Oh no! Don’t be afraid! Just give them a go! Totally, so much easier than you would expect – sure, these are not perfect by any means, but I got there, and just kept perservering! The choux itself is easy to make, and with a piping bag, shaping the eclairs would be super easy too. The cooking time may take a little trial and error, depending on your oven etc. But other than this, nothing to fear – and just think of the satisfaction if they turn out ok! You should give them a go sometime for sure!

        July 2, 2012
  2. I hope they are as delicious as they look!

    June 28, 2012
  3. Wow! I haven’t had an Eclair in some time! They look yummy!

    June 29, 2012
    • Well, I think you should remedy that situation, and get thee to an eclair vendor ASAP. Or better, try making them yourself if you are set up to do so at home! Have you made them before at all? Nice to hear you like the look of these ones. Thanks for the comment!

      July 2, 2012
  4. Thanks for sharing! Really hope I can do something like that! =)

    June 29, 2012
    • Hi there! Thanks for commenting! After seeing what you have baked on your blog, I have absolutely no doubt whatsoever that you too, can make eclairs! Have you ever tried before? Super fun and not so hard, totally worth the result!

      July 2, 2012
  5. I bake eclairs from time to time but of a round shape. I know this feeling when you stare at the oven window and wisper “inflate, please inflate!” 🙂

    July 11, 2012
    • Hi Raisa, cool to hear that you make choux pastry at home – I guess you make profiteroles, yum, so delicious too! Yes – that was exactly how I was feeling about wanting the eclairs to work out and cook properly as I peered through the oven glass! Nice to hear I am not the only one 🙂

      July 13, 2012

Leave a Reply

