Skip to content

Closing time – Centre Pompidou

As I wrote about earlier, our trip to Paris marked the first time I really began to experiment with exposure times. In these photos, I was set up at the last set of escalators as people were leaving the Centre Pompidou.

There is so much to say about what is inside the Centre Pompidou. Equally, there are many things to be said about the incredible building itself. Furthermore, they have one of the best logos anywhere. I could hardly have enjoyed myself more in the place. So much so, that as we were forced to leave I braved strange looks to set my camera up and capture the people also leaving: some reluctantly, some hurriedly, others casually, some, even, romantically*.

So, how does getting kicked out of a museum at closing time make you feel?

There is something about closing time, isn’t there?

PJD

Photos by PJD, getting occasional strange looks from locals and tourists alike, inside Centre Pompidou at closing time.

* It is Paris, after all

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. I usually arrive at a museum far too close to closing time, so I’m used to being scuttled out of the exhibits. I try to avoid eye contact with the staff and eke out as much time as I can before I have to admit to myself that I’m not going to be able to stay and continue exploring overnight.

    I like how you weaved a narrative through this series of photos 🙂

    June 29, 2012
  2. There is something to be said for the hasty scuttle through a museum, knowing you have arrived too late. Of course, this works well only in those countries where you do not pay an exorbitant entry price – otherwise it can be a bit heartbreaking.

    I am glad you liked the narrative! I only hope it lived up to the photos…

    July 5, 2012

Leave a Reply

