Skip to content

Snapshots of Strasbourg 2: Le Petite France

Strasbourg delighted me with it’s beautiful old buildings, of which there are a concentration in the Grande Île in the centre of the city. This is a UNESCO World Heritage site, and here, along the banks of the Ill River, the buildings are from another time.

Strasbourg Cathedral is by far the most imposing building in this area, its high-Gothic facade looming up in a dominating way.

It’s incredible and fragile looking spire is visible from around the city, and the cathedral stands as the world’s sixth tallest church.

The Le Petite France is the area in Strasbourg where typical Alsatian architecture comes to the fore, along the banks of the river.

I loved looking along to the double spired church at the other end of the river too. The reflections at dusk were pretty special.

Locals and tourists alike seemed to be making the most of the balmy summer evening, with many people enjoying the riverside cafes and bars. This seemed to be where the cool kids were hanging out:

I would also totally make this a date spot if I lived there:

I also came across plenty of unusual details, such as this on a lamppost:

As the sun set, I felt I’d only begun to scratch the surface of this lovely, peaceful place.

CIA

Photos by CIA, Strasbourg, July 2012.

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Oh, I have ‘taking beautiful pictures’ envy. Great shots!

    July 9, 2012
    • I’m working my way back through comments, so sorry if these replies are a little late! So awesome that you enjoyed these shots! They were taken rather hastily (and on my phone too!) as I didn’t have so much free time to look around Strasbourg – there were definitely many more spots to explore but alas, work called… Thanks for the lovely comment 🙂

      July 13, 2012

Leave a Reply

