Skip to content

The sun sets on Stockholm

July is meant to be the most beautiful time of the year in Sweden’s capital, Stockholm, so I’m counting myself very lucky to be spending a few days here this week. The last time I was here, just before Christmas about six years ago, darkness dominated any sign of sunlight during the chilly days. So far this time, the days have been long, still and warm, filled with soft Scandinavian sunshine. There’ll be plenty more photos to come over the next few days from this incredibly gracious and classy city, but for now here’s a few snaps I captured of the Stockholm skyline, set off to  effect by the golden glow of the sunset.

Keep it up with more days like these and I won’t want to leave you, Stockholm.

CIA

Photos by CIA on the handy HTC Desire S, waterside in Stockholm, July 2012.

9 Comments Post a comment
  1. Very artistic photos, the first silhouette is beautifully backlit, you travel to great locations!

    July 10, 2012
    • Thank you! I couldn’t resist capturing the silhouettes as the evening was just so still and glowy. Amazing! Stockholm’s quite unlike any other place I have ever been, with such a unique character set accross the islands, have you been? Yes, lately I have been lucky with my travel locations, with Stockholm and Strasbourg the past 2 weeks perhaps I am on an “S” city roll? I wonder where I should look to add next… 😉

      I’m glad your enjoying our blog, thanks for the comment again!

      July 10, 2012
  2. What a beautiful place!

    July 11, 2012
    • Yes, Stockholm sure is a beautiful city, have you visited?

      July 13, 2012
      • Unfortunately no, but I have heard so much about it and seen so many great photos from Stockholm that I surely will go there in the nearest future! Any place there you’d especially recommend?

        July 14, 2012
  3. Beautiful photos!

    July 11, 2012
    • Thank you Maggie, glad to hear you enjoyed them! Have you visited Stockholm or Scandanavia before?

      July 13, 2012
      • No…I wish! Stockholm has perpetually been on my list of “places to go someday.” I’ve heard nothing but wonderful things about it.

        I’d like to see all of Scandinavia, actually. I had a grad school friend who was from Copenhagen (and perpetually homesick for it, I think.) She really got the urge started in me, to experience that part of Europe…and your beautiful Stockholm photos are giving it all kinds of new life!!

        July 15, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Sweden: Almost Asgard « judefensor

Leave a Reply

