Skip to content

Adventures in a Swedish supermarket

Before you feel like I am selling you short, this post isn’t so much about adventures as such, but about my random wanderings in a Swedish supermarket late one night earlier this week before PJD arrived. Something I am always intrigued by when I go to a new place, especially a foreign country, is the supermarket – the set up, the different food and products on offer. Because not all supermarkets are equal, and you never know what you might find! Also, time spent living overseas has given me an appreciation, as someone who loves to cook, that sometimes it’s just not possible to easily find the ingredients you need. I know my interest in all things supermarket-y might strike you as strange (it probably, definitely is!). But maybe, just maybe, there’s someone else out there who also shares this sense of foreign supermarket intrigue… If so, I hope you might enjoy this glimpse into a Swedish supermarket!

Signage was amazingly clear in this supermarket, as you can see above! With signage as clear and bold as this, there was absolutely no confusion as to where to find what.

In the bagaren section I discovered a plentiful selection of my some of my most favourite bread in the world, rågbröd:

Something that struck me about this supermarket, located on the island of Norrmalm in Stockholm, was the vast selections of certain products in particular, especially spices – certainly one of the largest spice arrays I have seen in a supermarket ever.

And look at the incredibly stocked mexican ingredients aisle:

The cheese section was stocked full with amazing looking Scandanavian (Jarlsberg, yum!) and various other European cheeses, which I had to resist with all my might.

I’ve also never come across such a large selection of potato salad; all I could think is that Swedes must really love their potato salad!

Of course, this being Scandinavia, smörgås is much loved, and there is always a wide range of toppings on offer in small containers, bright and colourful in appearance:

Being the height of summer here in Scandinavia (19 degrees! Whoop!), the summer berries looked temptingly delicious and fresh. Some in eco friendly packaging, some not so much…

And now for some of my absolutely favourite finds. First of all, in the crackers aisle…

I discovered the hugest crackers ever, which are everywhere in Sweden (and crunchily delicious too!):

I also loved the idea of self-serve berries freezer, more supermarkets should have these!

But my absolutely favourite discoveries were in the ice cream aisle, where I firstly found lemon curd ice cream which sounds super yummy:

And I then came across these amazing looking ice cream cartons. Great packaging, and amazing sounding flavours!

 I don’t know about you, but PäronJordgubb ice cream is looking pretty good to me…

CIA

Photos by CIA on the ever handy HTC Desire S, Stockholm, July 2012.

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. I, too, love to check out the supermarkets, as well as other daily living conveniences, when visiting not just other countries, but other cities in general. I like to see how people organize their lives. Are there laundromats, dry cleaners, drug stores (pharmacies) nearby. What about schools? (my child is way past school age, but I’m still curious!), So thanks for this glimpse. The packaging explains a lot about IKEA! 🙂

    July 15, 2012
    • Nice to hear that others are a little similar to me! Your level of intrigue and interest is perhaps even beyond mine! 😉 Nice to know that you enjoyed this glimpse into Swedish supermarket culture.

      July 19, 2012
  2. Nienke Verhoeks #

    aaaahhhhhh now I am hungry reading this and all the jummy stuff you write about I can’t find in the supermarkets here 😦

    July 16, 2012
    • Yes… Dutch supermarkets just don’t really cut it I am sorry to say… 😉

      July 19, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Upp & About « judefensor
  2. Weekly photo challenge: Foreign | foldedcranes

Leave a Reply

