Skip to content

Weekly photo challenge: Dreaming

Flying back from Stockholm, we witnessed the most incredible sight out the aeroplane window, in the form of a simply superb sunset. The cloud formations were many and varied, and as the last rays of the days sunlight beamed through the clouds to the land below, it looked like an otherworldly dreamscape, with the waters of the Netherlands glistening and shimmering far below us. With this sight before our eyes we weren’t dreaming, but it sure felt like we were.

CIA

Photo by CIA in the airspace somewhere over the Netherlands, July 2012. We are pretty pleased with how this photo and some of the others that we took out of the plane window turned out. Have you had any luck with the tricky pursuit of airborne photography?

12 Comments Post a comment
  1. OMG! This photo is not only stunningly beautiful I really want it as as concept art for my book! The sunset actually looks like two suns – a red dwarf and a standard G2 – and the ‘lighting’ is what I’d imagine during the period when both suns are in the sky at the same time!!!!

    Squint a little and those background cloud formations could be the ragged peaks of a young mountain range.

    Would you mind if I put this on my desktop as ‘inspiration’?

    July 19, 2012
    • Wow, thanks for your very enthusiastic response to this photo! It’s appreciated, glad that it struck a good nerve with you! What kind of book are you working on?

      It’s interesting to hear the various forms that you see in the photo. I agree, the cloud formations are quite incredible! I see on your blog you are a keen gamer, I too, can see that this photo could come straight from a game landscape!

      Happy for you to put this photo on your desk as inspiration – thank you for the courtesy of asking. Hope you will keep enjoying foldedcranes.com!

      July 19, 2012
      • My book is a kind of science fiction/fantasy fusion set on a planet that circles the G2 star of a binary system – think Tatooine from Star Wars. I guess that’s why I immediately saw two ‘suns’ in the photo.

        I’m not an astronomer so trying to turn dry facts into something I can visualize is hard. When I stumble on amazing photos like yours it feels as if a door has opened up inside my head. Thank you. 🙂

        July 20, 2012
    • Wow, sounds pretty amazing, and I am pretty excited that my photo was able to create this image in your head so well! It’s awesome to think it has inspired someone in such a way, so thanks for commenting! Good luck with the book, and for finding even more sources of inspiration along the way 🙂

      July 20, 2012
      • I know, it’s incredible that a moment high in the air on the other side of the world can have such a huge impact somewhere else entirely. I guess that’s synchronicity at work!

        July 21, 2012
  2. Clouds from airplane windows are a big favorite of mine. And these are stunning! Thanks! 🙂

    July 19, 2012
    • Thank you Margarita! Surely everyone loves to see amazing cloud formations and sunsets from the windows of a plane? But perhaps some more than others, as many around us slept through this sight! Nice to hear that you enjoyed this photo a lot, thanks for the comment 🙂

      July 19, 2012
  3. Aneesa & Faraaz #

    I always end up next to the wing when I fly :O

    July 19, 2012
    • D’oh! Yes, the wing is not such a great spot for airborne photography… although having the wing in the photo does give that real sense of flying, so I guess if you look at it like that it’s a positive. Good luck picking a non-wing seat the next time you fly!

      July 19, 2012
  4. Unbelievable! What a beautiful photo.

    July 19, 2012
    • Thank you! I was pretty happy that the photo came out that well – and was pleasantly surprised when I saw it on the large screen (rather than the small camera one!). It’s amazing when you manage to capture something at exactly the right moment! Thanks for the comment, hope you’ll keep enjoying foldedcranes.com.

      July 20, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Weekly Photo Challenge: Dreaming « Mystiic

Leave a Reply

