Skip to content

Thinking on a wonderful moment

For most of us, life has many wonderful moments, but some certainly rank higher on the wonderful scale. I think the moments in life that really stand out are usually such because of the people that you experience them with, or the place that you experience them in. Sometimes, it’s a combination of the two (which I guess must make such moments super-wonderful!).

This afternoon it was one whole year since PJD asked me a very big question, which I answered with a resounding and overwhelmingly excited “YES!”. An incredibly wonderful and perfect moment. It’s been nice today to take time to reflect on that moment and what it meant – and all that has followed in the year for us since.

On my travels earlier this year in New York, alone, I came across this sculpture (photo above) by American artist Robert Indiana. Coming upon the sculpture on the corner of 6th Avenue and 55th street that day in April transported me back to memories of our engagement, as my parents gave us a print by Robert Indiana from MoMA to mark the occasion. Randomly seeing the sculpture caught me by surprise in the nicest and happiest possible way, and triggered such happy memories of that very special moment. The only thing that could have made the moment of seeing the LOVE sculpture even better would have been if PJD had been with me; sharing it in person would have been best, but I had to settle for sharing the moment later, instead.

Here’s to love, and the wonderful little moments in life!

CIA

Photo by CIA of Robert Indiana’s “LOVE” in Manhattan, New York City, NY, United States of America, April 2012. I found this page interesting – related to the sculpture and New Yorkers (and others) who had something to say about it. Have you seen any of Robert Indiana’s other works? It’d be great to hear about them and where you saw them if you have!

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. It IS a wonderful sculpture, ensconced as it is on an unexpected street corner! And what lovely memories you associate with it! All the best, M

    July 24, 2012
    • Thank you Margarita! Say hi to the LOVE sculpture from me when you walk past it next 🙂

      July 24, 2012
  2. Ah, such a lovely post. Every time I read I learn a little bit more about you both and feel pleased that you’re all loved up and having this continuous adventure.

    July 28, 2012

Leave a Reply

