Skip to content

No trick photography

I am not skilled enough for advanced photography tricks, and neither do I have Photoshop™. But I did get these shots in Iceland. And I am posting them here because I like them, and I hope you’ll like them too.

Throwing ice into Jökulsárlón

Ice landing in Jökulsárlón

PJD

Have you ever taken a shot with minimal expectations? Have you ever got home and found a moment of photographic pricelessness? These ones are from PJD, at Jökulsárlón, capturing the moment some ice was thrown, and the moment it hits the water. Tell us about your moments of photographic joy!

9 Comments Post a comment
  1. Every time I upload the pictures from my cell phone to my computer I’m surprised by what I find!

    September 19, 2012
    • Cell phones can often produce outstanding results! I found my old digital camera the other day, as we packed, and chuckled to discover that the once-cutting-edge now has fewer mega pixels than my “phone” (actually a multipurpose online stalking tool, haha!). Good answer though. =)

      September 24, 2012
      • “Stalking tool” hahaha! xoM

        September 25, 2012
  2. Michael #

    I always like a bit of long exposure where people are involved. I set up a photobooth last nye that left the shutter open for a second and – due to a drunken mishap – ended up leaving it open longer and longer as the night went on. The results are the perfect expression of the messiness of the event.

    …and the grumpy old man side of me wants to tell you not to get fooled by megapixels and that dynamic range and aperture are way more important!

    September 26, 2012
    • The grumpy old man in me completely agrees about the megapixels thing not being the be all and end all. The oddest thing about very early digital cameras is that they also seem to lack dynamic range, and aperture. Or at least, my very limited model did…

      Is there any chace to see the messy product of your photobooth experiment? It sounds singularly awesome!

      November 1, 2012
  3. Michael #

    It’s implied that I like you photos, but to be clear: those photos are awesome.

    September 26, 2012
    • It hadn’t occurred to me, until your clarification, that you might not have liked these. I mean, come on, they are awesome; indeed, what kind of a person could -not- like them…

      November 1, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Glacier lake | foldedcranes
  2. Meta-photography | foldedcranes

Leave a Reply

