Skip to content

Weekly Photo Challenge: Solitary

Weekly Photo Challenge: Solitary

As we walked across the square in front (to the side?) of the Royal Library of Belgium, I spotted this cosy reading spot. I liked how nonchalant the reader seemed to be, the pose one of studied relaxation.

Is she really as relaxed as she looked? The angle of her legs seems a little uncomfortable, the breeze a little cold. But there she remained, calm as you like. And there is no question, she is as solitary as one can be in the middle of a busy square in a busy city.

PJD

Photo by PJD, of a complete stranger, Brussels, August 2011. Apologies to the stranger for this opportunistic picture. I hope you don’t mind too much.

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. nice shot 🙂

    September 24, 2012
    • Thanks! It took quite a while to frame it right, but the result was worth the effort. Glad you like it.

      September 25, 2012
  2. Maggie Carlise #

    You guys post so many great photos here…but I think this might be one of my favorites! If you’d been consciously arranging this (posing the woman purposely and such,) I don’t think you could have done it better than this. I love how it’s framed – the lines, the tree.

    Really great shot!!

    September 25, 2012
    • High praise indeed! What’s the blogging equivalent of blushing? I think the lines and the tree were the hardest part to capture when I was taking the picture; getting that right balance is pretty tricky. What makes me the happiest though is some pretext to actually share it with others (it would be a bit creepy, perhaps, to post “look at this photo of a random girl I took” wouldn’t it?!).

      Glad you like this one though – it is encouragement (always welcome).

      September 25, 2012
  3. I really, really, like this shot… A lot!

    September 25, 2012
    • Thanks! I was really happy with the way it turned out too! I also like the “really really” followed by “A lot”! Appreciate the comment. =)

      September 25, 2012

Leave a Reply

